AFRS 325: The Black Male in Contemporary Times

Annotated bibliographies help organize potential sources prior to being cited in a paper, presentation or project. Once all sources are collected, annotations for each help the author decide where and how to reference the books, articles or other media relevant to the topic. Annotated bibliographies provide the following:

1. A formatted citation for each source in the required style
2. Your summary of each source 
3. Your evaluation of each source
4. Consider if or how the source will be used in your assignment/paper

Example APA citation from an electronic journal

Milford, S. (2015). Photo identification at the ballot: election protection or voter suppression? Missouri Law Review, 80(1), 297. Retrieved from http://libproxy.csun.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=ITOF&sw=w&u=csunorthridge&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7

SUMMARIZE: Write your source summary below the formatted citation. You may want to emphasize the particular content that is most useful to your research. Avoid using abstracts that accompany some sources. This is YOUR summary, and it should reflect your understanding of the work as well as what is most pertinent to you.

EVALUATE: Evaluate the source below your summary.  Your evaluation gives you an opportunity to critically analyze the work according to its methods and execution.  Has the author effectively communicated the arguments within?  Are the arguments supported by data and/or other forms of evidence? Or are there perceivable gaps in logic, unsupported claims, or bias?  Are there sufficient citations that lead you to believe the work responsibly integrates the contributions of other experts in the field? 

CONSIDER: Consider how the source relates to your topic. Does the source help you with your research? How does the source support your arguments/statements? Is the work appropriate to use in the context of your assignment? If so, what specific parts, data, or statements in the work will you cite? If you are citing the source in your paper or project, add notes as to why, where, and how the source will be used.

NOTE: There is no singular way to create an annotated bibliography. An annotated bibliography may include these or other elements. Always consult with your instructor on what is expected if your annotated bibliography.

See more on annotated bibliographies at the Online Writing Lab (OWL).

After you read the source, answer these questions to help you come up with the 4-6 sentences. 

1. Summary: What was the article about? What was the main point? Pro-tip, avoid using the first person (words like I, we, you, etc.) here.
2. Why is this source useful or relevant? Why would you potentially use this for your research? (If you were conducting research on this topic)
3. What conclusions are reached and how does this author support them? Find an example from the data presented that best illustrates that value of the source.
4. Evaluation: How reliable is the source? Pro-tip: things to consider: Author's credibility, content & coverage, timeliness, accuracy and objectivity.

Book

Ontiveros, R. J. (2014). In the spirit of a new people: The cultural politics of the Chicano movement. New York University Press.
Ontiveros argues that the arts provide an expression of the Chicano movement that circumvents neoliberalism and connects historic struggles to current lived experience. Chicano artists have integrated environmentalism and feminism with the Chicano movement in print media, visual arts, theater, and novels since the 1970s. While focused on art, this book also provides a history of the coalition politics connecting the Chicano movement to other social justice struggles.

Journal article

Alvarez, N. & Mearns, J. (2014). The benefits of writing and performing in the spoken word poetry community. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 41(3), 263-268. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aip.2014.03.004
Prior research has shown narrative writing to help with making meaning out of trauma. This article uses grounded theory to analyze semi-structured interviews with ten spoken word poets.  Because spoken word poetry is performed live, it creates personal and community connections that enhance the emotional development and resolution offered by the practice of writing. The findings are limited by the small, nonrandom sample (all the participants were from the same community).