LibGuides: Nursing: Find Articles/Databases

Librarian Liaison

Marcia Henry

Email Me

Contact:

California State University Northridge

818-677-3012

Subjects: Assistive Technology, Communication Disorders and Sciences, Nursing, Physical Therapy

Article Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text on the EbscoHost platform is especially important to Nursing students. It is also one of the best article databases for getting help with citing. There are several other databases on the same EbscoHost platform which may also be useful: Academic Search Premier, the education databases, the electronic books, PsycInfo. All EbscoHost databases use the export link if you want to send the citation to a citation manager.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
It is important to use the CSUN University Library link to PubMed so that you will easily find a link to into OneSearch to find the full text or a link to request an Interlibrary Loan.

Databases by Subject: Nursing
more...less...
In addition to CINAHLPlus with Full Text and PubMed, be sure to use Cochrane Library (Wiley), Web of Science, MEDLINE (ISI), Ovid
.

Tutorials: PubMed for Nurses, Scopus, CINAHL

Library Guide for Scopus
PubMed Online Training:brief videos
PubMed offers a large selection of tutorials and updates their tutorial pages often. . For example -see 4 minute interactive video PubMed Subject Search: How it works
PubMed Save Searcher & Alerts
3 minute interactive video on how to set up your free My NCBI account
Tutorial CINAHL Advanced searching
Tutorial for PubMed for Nurses
This brief tutorial is a good introduction to PICO, and will help you create your own NCBI account to save search strategies and collect article citations

Select list of Nursing Research journals

The following link to OneSearch provides the retrieval of journal titles indexed for the subject heading

Nursing-Research- Periodicals

Identifying if article is Peer reviewed

OneSearch offers a filter labeled Peer reviewed Journals on the left column of records retrieved for a search

CINAHL and other EBSCO databases several optional search limits: Check. Peer Reviewed if you want only want articles published in scholarly/peer-reviewed journals.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.

Nursing

Librarian Liaison

Article Databases

Tutorials: PubMed for Nurses, Scopus, CINAHL

Select list of Nursing Research journals

Identifying if article is Peer reviewed

Video Tutorial OneSearch search strategy