Skip to main content

Africana/African Studies

Welcome to the Africana Studies Subject Guide. Use the left navigation links to learn about the kinds of Africana resources available to CSUN students and faculty.

Digital Services Librarian

Stephen Kutay's picture
Stephen Kutay
Contact:
18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8328

Oviatt Library Rm 227
818.677.2335
Website

Reference Collection

The physical reference collection is located in the northwest corner Learning Commons on the Main Floor across from the Reference Desk (see map below).  Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are inter-shelved on floors 2 through 4.Map of Oviatt Library first floor highlighting the reference area in the northwest section of the Main Floor.

Reference Highlights

Featured reference sources

Browse popular sources

Online Reference

General Reference Resources

  • Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health,...
     
  • OED is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
     
  • Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
     
  • Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.
     

Document Reader