These collections of images are available for all users. You do not need to be a student at CSUN to have access to these collections. Many are freely available to use for educational purposes; however, it is important to read the permission levels of copyright.
- Library of Congress:
- American Memory: Provides access to digital images, prints, maps, and videos that document the American Experience and is organized into 100 thematic collections. This collection is also divided into easy to browse sections including topic, time period, material type, and location.
- Prints & Photograph Online Catalog: Contains photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. Scope of the collection is mainly pertaining to United States history, interests, and achievements. Most records include digital image; however, in some cases there is only a thumbnail image display due to potential copyright considerations
- Getty Images: Getty Images has recently expanded their open access policy on the bulk of its collection for personal or non-commercial use (only) with attribution. When conducting your search the media type is automatically set for Creative Images, Rights-Managed and Royalty Free.
- LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google): Includes millions of photographs many in which were never published by LIFE magazine. Its archive stretches back from the 1750’s to today.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images containing photographs, drawings, vintage posters, illuminated manuscripts, and historical maps covering a variety of academic disciplines. Low resolution images can be viewed and used in research projects and presentations. Permission must be obtained for use of high resolution images.
-
NYPL's Friedman-Abeles Photograph Collection The images are from Broadway and off-Broadway shows from theatrical productions comprise the majority of the collection, and the images cover various stages of production. Many shows have rehearsal, production, and publicity prints. Some also have images of set construction, costume design, backstage visits, and parties.
- Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 400,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
- Unsplash: Free hish-resolution photos, adding 10 new photos every 10 days. All photos published on Upsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero.
- Siam Costumes' Cutters Guide: The Cutters Guide is a great place to get inspiration for new designs as well as browsing one of the largest collections of rare 19th and 20th century costumes available.
- Met's Costume Institute: The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
