Skip to main content

CCE 200: Introduction to Civic and Community Engagement

Librarian

Yi Ding

yi.ding@csun.edu

818-677-3916

About This Guide

This course guide is designed to help you find information for your CCE 200 course, specifically finding data about your local environments.

Office of Community Engagement's partner site map

Please contact me for more information or for follow-up appointments if you have questions about using any of the Oviatt Library's resources. My contact information is above.

Oviatt Guides

These are links to some older Oviatt Library guides on how to find local, state, and national data. They are very comprehensive, but some of the links are outdated. If a link doesn't work, consider Googling the name of the resource to see if it has a new url. Unfortunately, some of the listed resources have simply ceased to exist.

San Fernando Valley Statistics and Facts

Finding Statistics

US Census Data

USA.gov's Statistics page

American Factfinder searches and retrieves recent data from the U.S. Census Bureau's many programs, including the Decennial Census of Population and Housing for 2010 and 2000, Annual Economic Surveys, American Community Surveys since 2010, and many others. The following provides step-by-step instructions for searching American FactFinder for statistics on the San Fernando Valley as a geographic entity as well as individual communities within the Valley.

How to search for statistics on the entire San Fernando Valley from the U.S. Census Bureau:

  1. Start on the American FactFinder website.
  2. Click on Guided Search and then the Get Me Started button.
  3. Click the radio button next to the type of data you need, i.e., people, housing, businesses and economics, etc., and click the Next button. 
  4. Optional: To find data from the 2000 census, click on Datasets and select the summary file(s) needed.
  5. Click the topics or subtopics (click the + plus sign to display) you need, and click Next.
  6. From the Select a Geographic Type pull-down menu, select County Subdivision. From the next menu, select California, and from the next menu, select Los Angeles County, and then select San Fernando Valley, CCD, Los Angeles County. Click Add to Your Selections and then Next.
  7. Optional: You will be given the option of narrowing your statistical tables by race and ethnicity. Follow the instructions to do that, or click Skip this Step.
  8. A short list of tables of statistics on your topics related to the San Fernando Valley as a whole will be listed.
  9. Click the table name to view, print, download, etc. the data table.
  10. If prompted, you may view additional tables by clicking Advanced Search, where you will have the option to further refine your results.

How to search for statistics on communities within the San Fernando Valley from the U.S. Census Bureau:

  1. Start on the American FactFinder website.
  2. Optional: Enter a community name or zip code in the Community Facts box to find frequently asked for statistics on a single community.
  3. Click on Guided Search and then the Get Me Started button.
  4. Click the radio button next to the type of data you need, i.e., people, housing, businesses and economics, etc., and click the Next button.
  5. Optional: To find data from the 2000 census, click on Datasets and select the summary file(s) needed.
  6. Click the topics or subtopics (click the + plus sign to display) you need, and click Next.
  7. From the Select a Geographic Type pull-down menu, select 5 Digit Zip Code Tabulation Area, census tract, congressional district, or other smaller geographic type.
  8. From the next menu, select California, and from the next menu, select a zip code(s), census tract numbers, or congressional district number for a community. Click Add to Your Selections after the code or number is selected and then Next. Note: To select more than one code from the menu, on a PC, hold down the shift key and click the number(s) you need; on a Mac, hold down the control key.
  9. Optional: You will be given the option of narrowing your statistical tables by race and ethnicity. Follow the instructions to do that, or click Skip this Step.
  10. A short list of tables of statistics on your topics related to a zip code or codes will be listed.
  11. Click the table name to view, print, download, etc. the data table.
  12. If prompted, you may view additional tables by clicking Advanced Search, where you will have the option to further refine your results.

Elections and Voting Data - United States

Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.
 
Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.
 
Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.
 
A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.
 
A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.
 
Downloadable campaign finance information

Health data

Healthy City is a community service and policy research tool for Los Angeles County. Provides a large database of community resources/services and localized demographic and health data on a GIS mapping platform.
The Los Angeles County Health Survey (LACHS) functions as a primary vehicle for gathering information about access to health care, health care utilization, health behaviors, health status, and knowledge and perceptions of health-related issues among the LA County population.
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health - Statistics, Data, & Reports (some data sets are out of date)

Education Data

Ed-Data (Education Data Partnership) includes reports and profiles of schools and school districts, among other information.

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System

Education Statistics - California (Oviatt Library Guide)

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S. Data can be located under "Quick Facts", "Data", or by searching for a specific school or school district under "School/District Locator." Fiscal and Nonfiscal reports, and working papers can be located under "Publications."NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education, including prevalence of students in special education. You can create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.

California State Education Department contains data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources.

California State Report Card The California Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.

Population / Economic Data

Population Data

Los Angeles Department of City Planning (choose "Demographics" from the top menu)
Mapping L.A. Neighborhoods (Los Angeles Times) both maps and provides demographic data about neighborhoods within the City of Los Angeles, including some comparisons to other neighborhoods.
Demographic Research Unit (California Department of Finance). A variety of demographic reports on cities and counties.
Southern California Association of Governments
PolicyMap (Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.)

Economic Data

FFIEC Census Reports (Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council) includes recent estimates of Tract Median Family Income by census tract number within a county or metropolitan area. The FFIEC also provides this tool to find a Census Tract.
PolicyMap (Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.)

Crime Data

Crime Mapping and COMPSTAT for the City of Los Angeles (Los Angeles Police Department). Up-to-date crime mapping and statistics for neighborhoods throughout Los Angeles.
LA Times Crime Map. Us­ing data from the Los Angeles Po­lice De­part­ment and Los Angeles County Sher­iff's De­part­ment, Crime L.A. cre­ates maps and reports for the hundreds of cit­ies and neigh­bor­hoods covered by these agencies.
Crime Data (California Office of the Attorney General). Use the Interactive Crime Statistics Tables to see county breakdowns.
State of California Megan's Law Sex Offender Locator. Searchable several ways, including by zip code.

Document Reader