Mission is to investigate the relation between human health and the environment. Focus areas include air pollution and respiratory health, chemical and radiologic terrorism, health studies, radiation studies and environmental public health tracking.
The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
CTD advances understanding of the effects of environmental chemicals on human health. Developed at the Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory (MDIBL), with support from the National Institutes of Environmental Health Sciences and the National Center for Research Resources of the National Institutes of Health.
The South Coast AQMD believes all residents have a right to live and work in an environment of clean air and is committed to undertaking all necessary steps to protect public health from air pollution, with sensitivity to the impacts of its actions on the community and businesses.
Directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Links are to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts, organized by health and development topics.
Created by experts in CRS, the reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agriculture policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran’s issues and much more. Founded over a century ago, CRS provides authoritative and confidential research and analysis for Congress’ deliberative use.
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. Includes more than 7,800 full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, as well as travel guides, National Public Radio programs, links to thousands of video files, and over 1,600 volumes of reference content.
Free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Featuring hundreds of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect ecology. The total number of records is approximately 612,000, and full text is provided for more than 9,100 records from open access titles.
Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a â€œGIS tool for non-GIS expertsâ€ for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.