LibGuides: MUS 419: Music Industry Foundations: Home

Home

Music Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

Creative Maker Studio (CMS)

CMS Homepage
Info on all the services plus contact info.

Citing your sources (MLA and Chicago)

OWL Purdue MLA 9
A straightforward guide showing what has changed in the new (9th) edition of MLA. Hosted by Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.
Quick Guide to Citing in MLA 9
Chicago Manual of Style (online) Full e-version of the Chicago Manual of Style with links to the style blog. Log in with CSUN credentials to access.
OWL Annotated Bibliography guide
Annotated bibliography
The library's guide to annotated bibliographies, including MLA and APA examples.

Find books

The Insider's Guide to Music Licensing by Brian Tarquin
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781621534075
Publication Date: 2014
The Art of Music Publishing by Helen Gammons
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780240522357
Publication Date: 2011
Copyright in the Music Industry by Bosher, Hayleigh
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781839101274
Publication Date: 2021

Backstage Pass
Open-access, peer-reviewed journal published by students at University of the Pacific.
More books on music and copyright
More books on music trade

Los Angeles Public Library e-resources

LAPL e-resources
Anyone with an address in California can get an LAPL card. Then you can stream up to 10 titles a month on Kanopy.

Freegal
Using Freegal, you can stream unlimited Sony-owned music, and download up to 5 MP3s a week.

Databases (music, business, and law)

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
FT features world business, politics and economic news, as well as dedicated coverage of company news, climate change, technology, the arts, culture and book reviews. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account that includes FT.com app or desktop access, set up “myFT” customized news feeds and alerts, access special reports and the ePaper, which is the digital reproduction of today’s print edition.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Fully searchable database with financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music education, and jazz.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal has at least one article daily regarding rights, licensing, or the music industry.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.

Online resources

RIAA reports
RIAA has reports available for download, plus historical information about Gold and Platinum artists and albums.
Billboard charts archives
Searchable archive of record charts, including independent, Latin, and international.
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame teaching guide
Links to digital resources related to popular music.

Music magazines from LAPL

With a Los Angeles Public Library card, you can access Libby.

Overdrive offers a number of music magazines such as Rolling Stone, Billboard, and Mojo.

New York Times
Sign up for a daily All-Access pass to the NY Times including all digital content, with your LAPL card.
Washington Post
You can sign up (repeatedly) for a 7 day all-access pass to WaPo using LAPL.