Skip to main content

QS 490: Queer Studies Senior Capstone

Spring 2017

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help you find and use materials in the Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Sex and Gender as a part of your course work in QS 490. If you have any questions about the collection or your research, call Special Collections and Archives at (818) 677-2832, or email us at oviattsca@csun.edu.

Student Research Award

Students enrolled in this course who make use of materials in the Vern and Bonnie Bulllough Collection on Sex and Gender in their final papers are eligible to apply for a student research award of $500. For more information, see the Vern and Bonnie Bullough Endowment Student Research Award page.

The Bullough Collection

The Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Sex and Gender was established by former CSUN faculty member Vern Bullough to document social attitudes and studies of sex and gender from ancient times to the present in support of CSUN curricula and research. The collection is maintained for research and educational purposes, and is comprised of books, periodicals, manuscripts, and archival materials.

The collection is maintained for research and educational purposes, and is comprised of books, periodicals, manuscripts, and archival materials on numerous topics. Some of these include:

  • Cross-dressing
  • Gender roles in various time periods
  • The homosexual community in Los Angeles
  • Prostitution
  • The transgendered community
  • Children and gender
  • Nudism
  • Gender and medicine
  • Fetishism
  • Pornography

Most materials in the Bullough Collection are in Special Collections and Archives, though some are in other parts of the library.