Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

ANTH 345: Diversity in the United States

Starting Your Research: Brainstorming for Keywords

When you begin your research process, brainstorm keywords that represent the main ideas of what you are researching. These keywords can come from your initial knowledge of your topic, and/or information you may have gleaned while searching for background information on your topic.

If for example, your research topic is on queer Chicana students in Los Angeles, some keyword options would be:

Keyword 1 Keyword 2 Keyword 3 Keyword 4
Chicana/o queer student Northridge
Latina/o gay college student San Fernando Valley

Mexican-American

lesbian       university student Los Angeles
Hispanic LGBT   Southern California

Resource Type

You will also want to consider the different kinds of information you will need and the variety of resources you will be using to obtain that information.

Definitions and Background Information: subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, biographies

Critical analysis: Scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, books

Historical resources: newspaper articles from the time period, census data, letters, oral histories

 

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? 

OneSearch is the University Library's searching tool to locate book, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources. 

What am I searching with OneSearch? 

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together: 

  • Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. 

  • Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the University Library. This also includes material located in the Teacher Curriculum Center, Music & Media, Map Library, and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user: 

  • Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout. 

  • All CSU Libraries (CSU+) -Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries as well as articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. 

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources