University Library resources and other credible websites and materials can help you find court cases, legal codes, and scholarly law review journal articles; as well as background information and definitions of terms.
Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.
A searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Oyez US Supreme Court cases, including recordings of oral arguments, searchable by issue area
Supreme Court of the United States (The official web site of the Supreme Court. In addition to the opinions, you can also read or listen to recent oral arguments presented at the Supreme Court.)
GovInfo (US GPO includes official publications from all three branches of government)
FindLaw Cases and Codes (Search U.S. and State constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Note: FindLaw is not completely free. If you are prompted for a credit card to retrieve information, don't do it! Use HeinOnline or Westlaw legal research to find similar information about court cases or codes.)
Google Scholar Select "Case Law" before you search. Google Scholar has Supreme Court opinions, from 1791 to the present (with selected coverage of pre-1790 decisions). Federal court of appeals and federal district court opinions from approximately 1925 to the present.
Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.
A searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Google Scholar Include law review with the case title
American Law Yearbook 2018: A Guide to the Year's Major Legal Cases and Developments
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
FindLaw U.S. Constitution: First Amendment (From the Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation.)
FindLaw Legal Dictionary (Definitions of legal terms and legal usage from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law, 1996.)
Enter your keywords here (i.e. cybercrime) or use the case name (i.e. Morse v. Frederick) to find information.
You also have the option to choose specific types of sources, court circuit, state courts, and tools.
To navigate through results either scroll down the page or jump to specific sections by choosing from the options on the left side of the page.
The flags on the left of the cases denote how postively/negatively a case has been referenced in other proceedings or decisions.
Click on a box to the left of the result before choosing one of several options on how to save or email the resource.
Enter your keywords or case name into the search field on HeinOnline's homepage. This will be under the first tab title "Full Text". Other search options include by citation or case law.
On the results page, you will be able to filter how you view them. You can narrow down by title, title of the law review publication, etc. For the purpose of your assignment, click on 'Section Type' and then 'Article' - this way you will see only law review articles pertaining to the court case you are researching.
To access the remaining articles (after refining your results), click on the title to read the full article.
You have two ways in which to download the pdf or email yourself the article. Before clicking on the article title, look to the right corner of the results field and you'll see four icons to 1) directly access the pfd file; 2) download the pdf file; 3) email the article; 4) tag and save a bookmark within HeinOnline (you would need to create your own log-in).
The other option to download the article would be after clicking on the article title. Just above the text of the article will be located many of the same icons shown on the previous page.
