LibGuides: TH 262: Fundamentals of Costume Technology: Home

Theatre Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Digital archive containing over 1.6 million world art and architecture images. Requires Flash Player version 6.0 or later.

LibGuide on fashion/costume
This is a guide specifically for finding fashion/costume information on ArtStor.

Beginning Sewing Techniques
Costume, Camera, Grip Departments: The Crew—Behind the Scenes of the Film Industry
Costume Design In interviews with designers, the basic questions of theatrical costume design are addressed. Topics covered include: deciding on the overall costume look, researching periods and styles, choosing colors and textures, source materials, drawing designs, basic patterns, hiring versus making costumes, costume upkeep, simple size alterations, wigs and make-up, period costuming (e.g. Elizabethan, Victorian), accessories, emergency repair kits, technical and dress rehearsals, and budgets. Examples from actual productions are used as illustrations.
Intro to Costume Design Presentation by Marcy Froelich, who teaches costume design at UC,
Pattern Development
Practical Use of Materials: Textiles
Sew Cool!

Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window Provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and an extensive color image bank as well as other resources. Access restricted to 3 users at a time.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Times Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).

Vogue Archive
With an LAPL card, you can access the complete archive of Vogue.
Overdrive Magazines
Also available through LAPL, this collection offers full color magazines like Vogue, Elle, and other fashion titles helpful for costume research.
LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.