Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

COMS 631: Studies in Classical Rhetoric

Finding Articles

The following databases will allow you to search with keywords and using AND, OR, NOT Logic to help you identify relevant sources for your COMS 631 research. For a complete list of available databases, see A-Z Databases.

Specialized Databases

Communication Source (EBSCO) - Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) - Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) - Comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews in all major fields of philosophy. Includes over 680 journals published worldwide.

PhilPapers - A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) - Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

JSTOR - Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Project MUSE - Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science - Multidisciplinary database providing access to citations from more than 12,000 research journals worldwide. Includes the following citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). Cited reference searching is available.

Finding Book Review Articles

The following databases are useful for locating book reviews. If you don't have a specific title in mind, search by keywords. For a particular title, enter the author and/or title of the book as keywords and follow any of the specific instructions listed under each database.

Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson) - Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction from over 5,000 periodicals. Also includes over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals.

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson) - Provides access to nearly eight decades worth of literary critique, evaluation, and thought from Book Review Digest. Includes book summaries, abstracts, and citations for adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.

Communication Source (EBSCO) - Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

JSTOR - Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

LexisNexis Academic now known as Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni contains book reviews in newspapers and popular magazines. At the Nexis Uni landing page, select the tab that says “All Nexis Uni” directly left of the search bar. Next, select "News," then select "Reviews" under “Article Type." Search for the name of a book or author. Filter your results further in the left-hand toolbar on the search results page.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources