LibGuides: COMS 428: Freedom of Speech: Finding Resources

Librarian

Coleen Martin

Email Me

Contact:

coleen.martin@csun.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication Studies, Journalism, Social Work

Finding Articles

Want to know if a publication is peer reviewed? Search Ulrichsweb.

Here are a list of databases to get you started on finding articles:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to NCJRS abstracts and indexes, full-text publications, grant information, calendar of events, and national and international resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

For more Databases, see the A-Z Databases page.

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are used to connect two, or more, keywords together as a way to narrow or expand your search results.

AND - narrows your topic; only results with the terms 'women' and 'media' found in the title, subject heading or description will be shown.

OR - expands your topic; useful when you want to add to your results; this terms works well when using synonyms as keywords.

NOT - removes results; if your keyword can be defined in multiple ways. For example, 'image' can mean pictures but it could also be related to body image or self-esteem.

OneSearch

We've recently improved OneSearch! The following tutorial will show you how to navigate the library's resources including books and eBooks.

Finding Books Beyond the University Library

What if the University Library doesn't own a book you need? You can request it through CSU+, a new resource sharing program with other CSU Libraries. The following tutorial will show you how to use this option.