Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

DEAF 360: American Deaf Culture

Navigating the Library Website

How Do I Search for Books?

click show/hide infographic text below for transcript of content

Finding Books Using OneSearch

You can search for books using OneSearch by typing in the title, author or keywords in the homepage OneSearch form.  Once the results page loads, you can use the limiters in the menus under "Refine My Results" to narrow your results. Selecting "books" under "Resource Type" will limit the results to eBooks and print books.  For eBooks only, select "Available Online at CSUN" under "Show Only"; for print books only, select "Available at CSUN" under "Show Only."  

Click the title heading of any given result item to view the full record.  In the full record, under "Online Access" you'll find the direct link to electronic text, if available. Ebooks can have different number of user access. Check in the notes section to see how many users can read the book at any given time.  The "Send To" menu offers tools for citing, emailing, or saving a record as a favorite.

Saving Items

Don't lose track of relevant articles or books. Use Pin It feature in OneSearch -- make sure to log in with your CSUN user id and password (same as portal or Canvas). Items you pin will remain attached to your account and appear every time you log in.

In databases save articles to a folder or export to a citation manager.

 

APA Style

In-Text Citations

"In-text citation" means that you refer to (or cite) the ideas or words of another as soon as you write about them in your paper. There are several ways to do this: using quotation marks for exact words, summarizing or condensing without changing the meaning, and paraphrasing or using your own words.

Here are specific examples of ways to handle in-text citation in APA format.

APA In-Text Citation Basics (Purdue OWL)

APA In-Text Citations Specific Examples (Purdue OWL)

 

What is An Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources (books, articles, websites, etc.) with short paragraph about each source. An annotated bibliography is sometimes a useful step before drafting a research paper, or it can stand alone as an overview of the research available on a topic.

Each source in the annotated bibliography has a citation - the information a reader needs to find the original source, in a consistent format to make that easier. These consistent formats are called citation styles.  The most common citation styles are MLA (Modern Language Association) for humanities, and APA (American Psychological Association) for social sciences.

Annotations are about 4 to 6 sentences long (roughly 150 words), and address:

  •     Main focus or purpose of the work
  •     Usefulness or relevance to your research topic 
  •     Special features of the work that were unique or helpful
  •     Background and credibility of the author
  •     Conclusions or observations reached by the author
  •     Conclusions or observations reached by you


Annotations versus Abstracts

Many scholarly articles start with an abstract, which is the author's summary of the article to help you decide whether you should read the entire article.  This abstract is not the same thing as an annotation.  The annotation needs to be in your own words, to explain the relevance of the source to your particular assignment or research question.

APA 7th Annotated Bibliography Examples

Book

Ontiveros, R. J. (2014). In the spirit of a new people: The cultural politics of the Chicano movement. New York University Press.
Ontiveros argues that the arts provide an expression of the Chicano movement that circumvents neoliberalism and connects historic struggles to current lived experience. Chicano artists have integrated environmentalism and feminism with the Chicano movement in print media, visual arts, theater, and novels since the 1970s. While focused on art, this book also provides a history of the coalition politics connecting the Chicano movement to other social justice struggles.

 

Journal article

Alvarez, N. & Mearns, J. (2014). The benefits of writing and performing in the spoken word poetry community. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 41(3), 263-268. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aip.2014.03.004
Prior research has shown narrative writing to help with making meaning out of trauma. This article uses grounded theory to analyze semi-structured interviews with ten spoken word poets.  Because spoken word poetry is performed live, it creates personal and community connections that enhance the emotional development and resolution offered by the practice of writing. The findings are limited by the small, nonrandom sample (all the participants were from the same community).

OneSearch

Watch this video to learn how to navigate OneSearch to find materials available through the University Library.

Finding Specific Articles

When you know the author, title, journal name, etc. of the article you want

           Example: 
 Malebranche, Mary, Morisod, Kevin, & Bodenmann, Patrick. (2020). Deaf culture and health care. Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ), 192(50), E1809–E1809. https://doi.org/10.1503/cmaj.200772

Use OneSearch

Type title in quotation marks: "deaf culture and health care"

OR

Type keywords such as author surname and several words from title: malebranche deaf culture health

Finding Groups of Articles About a Topic

When you want articles about a topic but don't have a specific article to search for you can

Use OneSearch

Use OneSearch (Basic or Advanced) to search by keywords, topic, date of publication, etc.

More detailed help for using OneSearch: OneSearch Search Tips LibGuide

Use Library Databases

Use University Library Databases -- listed by subject, type and name

Best Databases for Deaf Studies Topics

Get research tips from Deaf Studies LibGuide

 

What Are Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Sources?

Scholarly sources (also referred to as academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed sources) are written by subject experts with systems in place to ensure the quality and accuracy of information. 

See the Scholarly Sources section of the Research Strategies LibGuide for lots more detail and examples.

Deaf Studies LibGuide -- More Detailed Search Tips

More in-depth info about defining a research topic, using databases, and more resources for all Deaf Studies classes and projects is in the Deaf Studies LibGuide.

Literature Review Resources

Literature Review How To  (CSUN University Library) offers useful tips on how to write a literature review and provides you with information on things you should and should not do.

Literature Review (Purdue OWL) 

Review of Literature (University of Wisconsin)

Write a Literature Review (UC Santa Cruz)

 

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources