Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership

LibGuide for ELPS

Resources and strategies that apply generally to ELPS research can be found in the Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Guide.

Borrowing Print Books and Physical Media by Mail

While the library building remains closed due to public health requirements, beginning August 24, 2020, current CSUN students, faculty (including Emeritus), and staff will be able to request books and other circulating materials from our collections to be sent to them by mail. Note that books and media on reserve are not available for mailing.

Users may request items through OneSearch:

  1. Search for needed items in OneSearch, and click Sign in to sign into your OneSearch account
  2. In the record for the item you want, click Request and follow the on-screen instructions.
  3. You will receive your requested materials by mail in about one to two weeks, as item availability, public health, and USPS mail circumstances allow.

Questions? Contact libcirc@csun.edu or call (818) 677-2274 

 

Resources for Graduate Students - Learning Resource Center

The Learning Resource Center in the Oviatt Library, 3rd floor, East Wing, offers a variety of helpful resources for graduate students, including individual consultations.

COVID Updates

Signing Up for an EBSCO or ProQuest Account

SAGE Research Mehods

SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.

 

 

APA Style

Find Theses & Dissertations

Looking at examples of other dissertations can be helpful. The following databases allow you to explore the full text of dissertations from other universities and from fellow CSUN students.

Citation Managers (EndNote): What are They and Why Use Them?

Citation Managers are bibliographic management programs that will help you keep track of articles and books as you find them, organize your references and create bibliographies in 100s of citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)

They will also allow you to:

  • Import citations as you research from databases and catalogs
  • Save and organize citations
  • Attach PDFs of articles, when available
  • Embed citations (footnotes or in-text) into your word processing documents
  • Collaborate with others online
  • Discover the latest research

For more details and info about workshops see https://libguides.csun.edu/research-strategies/citationmanagers

 

EndNote Help From Oviatt Librarians

Several CSUN librarians have extensive experience working with EndNote and can help answer specific questions:

Marcia Henry -- mhenry@csun.edu

Christina Mayberry -- christina.mayberry@csun.edu 

EndNote: How-to Guides and Tutorials

Note: EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is the free online version of EndNote. It has limitations on storage and sharing. Get a detailed comparison 

EndNote and macOS Catalina

Apple has released  macOS Catalina which affects EndNote users. Details about this change are available online from Clarivate Analytics 

Document Reader