The Right Site (EASI) includes both free data and reports that must be purchased. To access the free section, select the Free Census 2000 Reports image at the top of the page. (You will need to register your email with the company and log in for the free access). This site allows you to generate free demographic ring studies of Census 2010 data.
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more..
Presents population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau. Data sets section offers tables for the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and Population Estimates. (Formerly known as American Factfinder)
A statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
A business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a â€œGIS tool for non-GIS expertsâ€ for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.
Richard K. Miller & Associates publications include market research handbooks covering the following sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering; Consumer Behavior; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumers; Leisure; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail Business; Sports; and Travel & Tourism.
The Balance Small Business provides information and resources for launching and managing your own business. Experts provide practical advice on entrepreneurship and management with more than 7,000 pieces of content.
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. Search within the series by keyword for the business of interest.
Combines a variety of information including topical entries covering the most commonly asked questions relating to e-commerce. Topics include how to write business and marketing plans, secure financing, and evaluate candidates for designing a website. Covers directory listings of numerous associations, consultants, and other organizations related to e-commerce as well as the leading e-commerce companies worldwide.
Citing Data from Others
Properly citing data assists in the research process by giving data creators proper credit for their work, aids replication, provides permanent and reliable information about the data source, helps track the impact of the data, and facilitates resource discovery and access.
Citing Data From Others
In many cases, a data provider will include recommended citation formats (i.e. the ICPSR). Also note that the producers of a particular dataset may request that users of the data cite a publication in which the data are described, rather than citing the dataset (i.e. the Database of Political Institutions).
When a data provider does not recommend a citation format, we recommend these general citation guidelines:
Year of Publication
Title of the Data Source
Format of the Data Source (e.g. [Computer File], [CD-ROM], [Online], etc.)