Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

Hidden Figures

This guide was created to help students find sources (primary and secondary) about African American/Black women.

Archives via Pinterest

How do you use this Pinterest Board?

  1. Browse the collection and when you find something interesting then place your mouse over the image. 
  2. Image of the Pinterest board and instructions to link to the archive's digital collection.
  3. Selecting the link, "memory.loc.gov" will take you to the collection and selection the image will take you to a larger view of the picture. 
  4. In the example above, you are landed in a collection that is part of the Library of Congress and a collection that introduces you to the African American Odyssey: The Depression, The New Deal, and World War II. Scroll down you will see section titled, African American Nurses Abroad. 
    1. Keywords from this section: National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses; World War II and Nurses and African American; and Mabel Staupers; Nurses and African American and NAACP
    2. Now take one of the keywords and drop it in OneSearch to find journal articles or books. All topics are different and if we search for "National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses" in OneSearch we will find one page articles in the Journal of Nursing from the 1920s and 1930s.

 

 

CSUN Digital Collections

How do you use the photographs in the Digital Collections to learn more about the hidden figure that you find?

  1. From a search that started with "African American Women," this image was selected.
  2. We see that one woman is highlighted. Myrlie Evers-Williams, the former chairwoman of the NACCP. Her husband was well known, but how do we find out more about her?
    1. You can start by selecting the link under "Subject - Evers-Williams, Myrlie," which will locate all of the items in the Digital Collection with her name. The description in the photos will provide you with more clues.
    2. We can also select type her name into the library's OneSearch tool to locate newspaper articles, magazine articles, journal articles, books, video, government documents that might include anything about her. There are over 1,600 items with the keyword Myrlie Evers-Williams. ‚Äč

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources