Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

University Library High School Student Guide

Ask a Librarian

Need help? You can get help 24/7 through our Ask a Librarian service.

Find Credible Sources Online

This page is designed to assist local high school students in finding no-cost, credible sources online, without visiting the University Library in-person. As the University Library's articles, and many of its books and resources are subscription based, you need to visit the University Library in-person, if you wish to access and use Library materials. However, the University Library building is currently closed due to the COVID19 crisis. In addition, the University Library does not provide remote access to subscription-based materials to non-CSUN students, staff, or faculty. However, the resources on this page provide local high school students with information about finding credible non-subscription resources virtually.

Finding Articles Using Open Access Resources

Do you need to find articles for your assignment, but you are not in the University Library building? Local high school students can use the University Library's OneSearch tool remotely to locate Open Access articles and resources. These articles are freely available and you can search them from any location. See the Finding Articles Using Open Access Resources guide for more detailed information on how to search for Open Access articles.

Additional digital resources can be found within the University Library Digital CollectionsScholarWorks Open Access Repository (SOAR) of scholarship created by the CSUN community, and electronic government documents. All of the information and resources in these tools and websites are freely available.

Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) Resources

LAPL offers remote access to many databases. If you already have a LAPL card, visit the LAPL Research and Homework database page to determine which databases will be useful for your particular research. If you are not sure if you have a LAPL card, or if you would like to find out how you can obtain one visit LAPL Teen Web.

LAUSD Databases

LAUSD offers LAUSD students with access to newspaper, magazine, and scholarly articles for research purposes. LAUSD students can also access books, photos, videos, and more through the LAUSD Integrated Library. Some high schools provide students with access to additional databases. Check with your teacher or teacher-librarian, if your school has a teacher-librarian, about any additional databases, and if you have any questions about logging in to LAUSD resources.

Finding Credible Information on Trustworthy Websites

This video can help you determine if a website is a good information source for your research needs. Also see the Fact-Checking News Guide to evaluate sources and for more information about determining the trustworthiness of a source.

Evaluating Internet Resources

The Internet can provide a valuable source of information. Check out the University Library's Reading Laterally for Fact Checking page and the Fact-Checking News Guide for in-depth strategies to critically think about the authority, accuracy, objectivity, currency, and coverage of the information you find. For more information see the resources below to support you in effectively reviewing internet sources. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great research tool to use as a supplement to research databases. Simply enter your search terms or article title in the search box to see if Google Scholar can provide you with full text. Check out the video by the Kishwaukee College Library for more information about using Google Scholar. If you have questions about using Google Scholar, visit us at Ask a Librarian.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources