Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

HIST 497B: Latin America’s Global Christianity

This guide is intended to assist students enrolled in HIST497: Latin America’s Global Christianity

Primary Source Resources

Central American: Latin American Travelogues
The Latin American Travelogues digital collection draws on the expertise of Prof. James N. Green, Carlos Manuel de Céspedes Professor of Latin American History; Patricia Figueroa, Curator of Iberian and Latin American Collections; students; and the staff of the Center for Digital Scholarship.

 

SALALM Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources 
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.

Identifying Primary Sources

Many primary or historical sources can be found in archival collections, however as first-hand accounts from specific events, primary sources can also be found in a variety of formats and places beyond the archives. For example, primary sources can be:
 

  • Letters
  • Diaries/Journals/Notebooks
  • Recordings (visual and audio)
  • Interviews
  • Speeches
  • Books and articles (published during the specific time period being examined)
  • Data as a direct result of an experiment, or observation
  • Ephemera (pamphlets, buttons, fliers)
  • Newspapers
  • Pictures

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources