Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

JOUR 372: Diversity and the Media

OneSearch

The OneSearch tool allows you to search for Ebooks and Articles in every search. Watch the video to learn how to narrow your search results using OneSearch.

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? 

OneSearch is the University library's searching tool to locate books, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources. 

What am I searching with OneSearch? 

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together: 

  • Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. 
  • Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the Oviatt library. This also includes material located in the Teachers Curriculum Center, Music & Media and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user: 

  • Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout. 
  • All CSU Libraries (CSU+) - Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries together.

Find Ebooks

Find Additional EBooks

Using OneSearch, type in your keywords and select Go.

Select the 'Books' filter and the "Available Online at CSUN" filters in the left column of the search results.

Find Images

There are numerous websites and University Library resources that will support you in locating images for your research. It is your responsibility to verify whether or not you can use an image prior to including it in your work. This means obtaining permission of the copyright holder or creator prior to using an image or understanding the permission levels already granted. Most databases and websites will provide information about how their images can be used and guidelines for attribution. For more information on locating and citing images please see our Finding and Using Images Library Guide.

Search for Videos, CDs, DVDs and Other Media in OneSearch

Using OneSearch, type in your keywords and select enter. Select the type of media desired under 'Resource Type' in the left column of the search results.