Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

JOUR 390: Freedom of the Press

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Find out about peer review articles and how to identify them by watching this video. NC State University Libraries. This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.

Find Journal Articles

Journal Article Databases

The list of databases below is broad-based and intended to support your initial research needs and beyond. Search results provide either direct links to the full text or to OneSearch to help you locate the articles. For a complete list of available databases that will be more subject specific, see Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.

Not sure if an article is peer reviewed? Use the Ulrichsweb database to find out if an article is peer reviewed.

Good Databases to Start With:

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)

Indexes and abstracts over 600 journals and trade publications; includes full text for over 240 journals. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State). Subjects covered include communication studies, journalism, mass media, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, deaf studies, advertising, and related areas of interest to practitioners and educators in these fields. Dates of coverage vary by journal.
 
Film and Television Literature Index
Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.
 
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Provides access to over 15,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. Includes news coverage in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; detailed company information and financial performance measures; and access to Shepard's Citations service for federal and state court cases.

Additional Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 4,600 periodicals, including more than 3,900 full-text peer-reviewed journals.  This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals. 
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
America: History & Life indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Gale Power Search
Simultaneously access 11 Gale databases to locate magazine articles, academic journal articles, news, reference books, Web sites, and multimedia resources. Includes "Viewpoint" (pro/con) essays and topic overviews on controversial issues.
International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
Includes current indexing and abstracts of nearly 900 journals in political science, from 1989 to the present.
 
JSTOR
Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.