Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to Library Help widget

JOUR 390: Freedom of the Press

Searching in a specific newspaper or publication

To find and search in a specific newspaper, magazine or journal title, select the "Journals" link in the bottom, left corner of the OneSearch box on the Library homepage. Enter the title of the publication you are searching for and select the search icon. Look for the title of your publication in the search results. Select the title of your publication to see the specific details for accessing it. 

Or access the Los Angeles Times from 1996-present.

News Databases

News + Current Issues Databases

The University Library offers online access to thousands of full-text newspapers via subscription databases that offer sophisticated ways to search for a subject and, in most cases, include more years of coverage than a newspaper's own web site. Historical newspaper databases can be accessed alphabetically within the News & Current Issues subscription databases page.

Find News

News on the Web

Major National/International News Organizations

Major News Aggregators

Los Angeles Area Broadcast News

Los Angeles and San Fernando Valley Area Newspapers

Finding More

  • ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide (international by regions, countries, states, cities, etc.) 
  • Newseum: Today's Front Pages (Map view displays a world map that links you each day to hundreds of daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form. Roll your mouse pointer over the map until an image of the page you want to view appears on the right side of the screen, then click to open the new window. Choose the Gallery view of these front pages to sort the papers geographically. Includes a link to each newspaper's website.)
  • Newspaper Map (A social media site that uses Google Maps to visually represent where newspapers are published. Additions and corrections are encouraged. Presents a geographic view of where newspapers are published as well as representation by language. Provides links to the news websites.)