Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

MCOM 600: Research Methods Seminar

Background Information and Stats

Facts and Statistics

The following are from government and private sources of facts and statistics beyond journals and books, for finding information to support research papers and presentations.

Factual Information: Selected Sources

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (Electronic encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.)
  • SAGE Knowledge (Electronic encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and education.)
  • Encyclopedia Britannica (Free website.)
  • Legal Research Sources (Links to sources of legislative, judicial, and administrative law, including periodical databases.)
  • NewsBank Special Reports (Focus on topics of current interest, including current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. Updated daily.)
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) (Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites.)
  • CQ Researcher (Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.)
  • RefDesk.com--Reference, Facts, News
  • USA.gov (The United States government's official web portal. Also provides links to relevant state and local government websites.)

Statistical Data: Selected Sources

Additional Research Guides

The following University Library Guides may be helpful to MCOM 600 students in locating information and developing a successful Research Proposal.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources