Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

Secondary Education

Find resources and get help conducting research in Secondary Education

ERIC: Key Database

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is an online database that contains

more than 1.6 million records and links to  more than 631,000 full-text documents

records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more

an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms

How do I access ERIC?

You can use three versions of ERIC.  All provide access to the same data, but their interfaces are different.   ERIC (EBSCO) and ERIC (ProQuest) are by subscription. ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) links to the freely available version of ERIC.

 

Getting Full Text

If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click Check for availability. A new window will open. to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print.

Access Articles From Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. First click the name of the database. On the next screen log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

An alternative is to download and use the campus Virtual Private Network to use your computer as if it were on campus. The VPN also supports uploading files to your campus udrive.

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of the University Library's Electronic Resources section).

Using ERIC (EBSCO)

Using ERIC (ProQuest)

Using ERIC (Department of Education)

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources