Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

CD 450: Fluency Disorders

This class guide introduces CSUN University Library's services and resources to find books, journals and articles on Fluency Disorders.

Communication Disorders, Nursing, Physical Therapy, Assistive Technologies Librarian- contact information: email: mhenry@csun.edu ' (818)677-3012

Marcia Henry's picture
Marcia Henry
Contact:
California State University Northridge
818-677-3012
Website

OneSearch

Please be aware that our new generation of OneSearch, at this time, does NOT offer you the full contents of databases such as CINAHLPlus with Full Text and other EbscoHost Databases.  It is important to use the EBSCO databases otherwise you may not efficiently find the best articles for your research.  

If you are looking for books, OneSearch Advanced search is a good starting point

OneSearch Books

Books

Finding Electronic books

Using OneSearch type in your keywords and click Go.
Click on the 'Books' filer under 'Resource Type' on the left-hand side of the search results.
You will find books on your subject and can further limit by filtering for Online books. 

 

Journals

ASHA Journals  - best way to look up a journal by its title is to use the Journals link located  under the OneSearch box  on https://library.csun.edu

 

OneSearch tutorial

APA Style 7th edition

The American Psychological Association (APA) citation style is common in the social sciences.

APA Style Guide by CSUN librarian Jamie Johnson

APA Formatting and Style Guide from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University

Citing Archival Materials in APA

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (official print version)

Call number BF76.7 .P83 2010, available in the Learning Commons

Book, Print and Online examples
 
Logan, K.J.  (2015). Fluency disorders.  San Diego, CA: Plural Publishers.
 
St. Louis, K. O. (2015). Stuttering meets sterotype, Stigma, and discrimination : An overview of attitude research (First edition). . Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=996340&site=ehost-live

 

Journal article with a doi

Myers,  F. L., & Bakker, K. (2014). Experts’ saliency ratings of speech-language dimensions associated with cluttering. Journal Of

              Fluency Disorders, 42, 35-42. doi:10.1016/j.jfludis.2013.10.004

Databases

Additional databases and good starting point is Databases by Subject:Communication Disorders and Sciences

Citation Managers-- Zotero Bib and EndNoteBasic

Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and will help format your citations in a variety of styles.

  • Zotero Bib -  is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. See FAQ at https://zbib.org/faq.   It is also helpful for its feature to save as an .RIS file that can be imported into a more robust citation manager such as EndNote Web.  Zotero Bib APA 7th style will automatically correct for sentence case capatilization.
  • EndNote Web (currently called EndNote Basic , EndNote Online) - free to CSUN students, staff, and faculty; integrates with MS Word and several browsers (IE,Chrome, Firefox); can export references directly from many databases.   You can contact EndNote help desk, Monday-Friday, 6 am (Pacific time) - 5pm at 800-336-4474. [Press 4 for Technical Support, press 1 for Endnote] The drawback  you need to have internet access,  Check and improve, if needed, your saved records and prepare your list of references before you start writing your paper.   (https://www.youtube.com/user/EndNoteTraining/videos

Films