LibGuides: Deaf Studies: Find Articles

Most Useful Databases

Here is a link to all Deaf Studies databases.

Or you can search individual databases from the list below.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

What Are Scholarly Sources?

The Scholarly Sources section of the Research Strategies LibGuide gives details about how to find and read scholarly books and articles.

Deaf Studies Journals

Deaf Studies Journals – University Library NCOD and Gallaudet

The Silent Worker is available online at Gallaudet University from 1888-1929 and from 1948-1966. It is also available in print at the University Library.

Info from Gallaudet website about this publication:

The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century. Originally known as The Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and renamed The Silent Worker on September 27 of the same year. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication monthly, except for July, August, and periodically September until it ceased in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all articles, although occasional contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were also printed. Gallaudet University Archives has converted their collection of The Silent Worker from 1888 to 1966 into digital format, and made it available on the World Wide Web for public research.

American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb (1847-1886) Available in print from the University Library and online for some years from 1847 - 1882.

--Also digitized at Gallaudet

--Title changed to:

American Annals of the Deaf (1886-2017) Available in print from the University Library Also online from 1980 - current.

The Association Review 1899-1909 (American Association to Promote the Teaching of Speech to the Deaf) Available in print from the University Library

Silent News (1971-2002) Available in print from the University Library

Deaf American (1964-1989) Available in print from the University Library (Earlier title: Silent Worker. Later title: Deaf American Monograph available in print from the University Library 1990-1999.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers the ability to link directly to University Library resources. Enabling this feature will allow you to search in Google Scholar and obtain the full text of articles and other electronic materials carried by the University Library. You only need to set up this configuration once for each computer you use in order to retrieve University Library resources through Google Scholar.

The video below is from Minnesota State University, Mankato but the info will help you use Google Scholar effectively. Just substitute CSUN and you're set.

Historical Research - Useful Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection includes periodicals from America from 1684 until 1912. It includes more than 500 titles, giving researchers access to contemporary accounts of historical events.
California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922 This link opens in a new window Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).

Getting Full Text

If the article isn't available in full text in the database you are searching, click to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print.

Access Articles From Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. First click the name of the database. On the next screen log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

An alternative is to download and use the campus Virtual Private Network to use your computer as if it were on campus. The VPN also supports uploading files to your campus udrive.

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of the University Library's Electronic Resources section).