LibGuides: English: Home

Librarian

Catherine Conner

Email Me

Subjects: Geological Sciences

Finding Articles for English and Literature

Most Useful Resources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world — Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Full-text access to Something about the Author; Dictionary of Literary Biography; and these Literature Criticism Online collections: Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital images of over 125,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text digitized versions of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800, comprising over 136,000 titles relevant to the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Draws from a number of Gale sources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Indexes begin with 1983, abstracts in 1984, and full text in 1994.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Offers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

MLA Style Guide, 9th edition

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22

Style Guide, citing in MLA 9th edition
This guide includes citation examples for a variety of sources, information on in-text citations, and a sample reference list.

Basic MLA formatting guidelines

A Works Cited list should be organized alphabetically by author’s last name.
Works Cited list should be double spaced with a hanging indent.
In-Text citations should be placed directly after the quote or paraphrase. Information needed: (Author’s Last Name page number)
- Parenthetical citation: “Direct quote” (Furlong 25).
- Narrative citation, if the author is mentioned in the sentence, only provide the page #. Example: Furlong found that “direct quote” (25)
Publication date should be formatted day month year with the month abbreviated. It could also be: month year or season year. Examples:
- 26 July 2016
- Dec. 2015
- spring 2016
Abbreviations: If the month is more than 4 letters, abbreviate as follows: Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. Aug. Sep. Oct. Nov. Dec.

MLA Style Center provide citation guideline for common titles of online works.