LibGuides: HIST 660- Cold War “Developments” in Latin America: USAID Gender, Race, Post-Coloniality: Finding Articles

Finding Articles from Journals (Secondary Sources)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by \America: History & Life\)"
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every quantifiable aspect of the history of the United States, including such areas as population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Sources

Many History course assignments require students to consult peer-reviewed/scholarly articles in leading History Journals. In addition, many will also go beyond that requirement and ask you to only consult peer-reviewed articles authored by a historian. The information below will help you learn more about how to identify peer-reviewed articles and how to best determine if an author holds a PhD in History.

Databases w/ Latin American Focus

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window

REDALyC
Allows you to search for the full-text of articles from approximately 300 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula. La Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (RedALyC)'s interface is in Spanish.

Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present, the collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible. Database users can track women activists globally and trace particular themes in national, international, or transnational contexts.

HIST 660- Cold War “Developments” in Latin America: USAID Gender, Race, Post-Coloniality

Finding Articles from Journals (Secondary Sources)

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Sources

Databases w/ Latin American Focus

Search Strategy