LibGuides: HUM 106 Cultural Eras II: Databases: Search by Discipline or Groups of Disciplines

Selected Databases for Multidisiplinary/Interdisciplinary Searches

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

CSUN Library Databases

Some library databases cover one discipline/subject (such as biology). Some include only a certain type of resource (such as streaming videos). Others focus on multidisciplinary or interdisciplinary areas (such as gender and women's studies). Take time to explore the 290 databases accessible to you as a CSUN student.

Complete Listing of University Library Databases -- listed by subject, type and name

Selected Databases for Art

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 300 publications, and indexing and abstracts for over 600 publications and 13,000 art dissertations covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Also includes indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions and a database-specific thesaurus.