LibGuides: INDS 350: Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies: Databases: Search by Discipline or Groups of Disciplines

Database Tips

Database (examples: ERIC, JSTOR, Project Muse)

Searches articles, book chapters, reports, newsletters only in that database
Good for in-depth scholarly works on narrow topics
Use Advanced Search Option to separate and clarify search terms & keywords
Limit by publication date, resource type (for example, peer reviewed/scholarly), and more. Specific limiters available in some databases (examples below from EBSCO)

CSUN Library Databases

Some library databases cover one discipline/subject (such as biology). Some include only a certain type of resource (such as streaming videos). Others focus on multidisciplinary or interdisciplinary areas (such as gender and women's studies). Take time to explore the 290 databases accessible to you as a CSUN student.

Complete Listing of University Library Databases -- listed by subject, type and name

Selected Databases for Multidisiplinary/Interdisciplinary Searches

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching of H.W. Wilson databases. Contents include: full-text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.

Selected Databases for Humanities

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world — Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Selected Databases for Sciences

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,200 journals in life sciences covering botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, neurology and toxicology. Access restricted to 10 users at a time.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A platform for journals, primarily in the sciences, health sciences, and technology fields, but also featuring social sciences and society publications. We have access to only a subset of the publications here.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Selected Databases for Social Sciences

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals, books, monographs, and education-related conference papers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Access generously provided by the College of Education.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.