LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Evidenced based research

Contact Librarian liaison

Marcia Henry

Email Me

Contact:

California State University Northridge

818-677-3012

Subjects: Assistive Technology, Communication Disorders and Sciences, Nursing, Physical Therapy

Tutorial on Evidenced Based Practice

The following tutorial was developed by staff at Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. It is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice. The article databases CSUN University Library offers which assist you in identifying the item are listed to the right. Upon completion of this self-paced tutorial, you will be able to:

define Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
identify the parts of a well-built clinical question
identify searching strategies that could improve PubMed searching
identify key critical appraisal issues that help determine the validity of a study

Connect to tutorial , allow one hour to complete at http://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/ebptutorial

Tutorial for PEDro by the Canadian Physiotherapy Society

Web databases

Rehabilitation Measures Database
Provides evidence-based summaries of patient assessment instruments that include concise descriptions of each instrument’s psychometric properties, instructions for administering and scoring each assessment as well as a representative bibliography with citations linked to PubMed abstracts. From Shirley Ryan Ability Lab.
TRIP
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Article databases Evidenced Based Practice

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library
Collection of evidence-based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PEDro is a free database. Although the citations (randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews..) may have links to a doi, PubMed record, if you are using this from home, you may have to look up the title in CSUN University Library 's OneSearch, PubMed, Cochrane Library

Google Scholar
be sure to go to Settings, library links, add CSU. try this search
https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C5&q=vestibular+balance+concussions+sports&btnG=/