LibGuides: TH 333: The American Musical: Home

Home

Theatre Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance, Financial Planning, and Insurance, Management, Marketing, Music, Systems and Operations Management, Theatre

MLA Style Guides, 9th Edition

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22

Style Guide, citing in MLA 9th edition
This guide includes citation examples for a variety of sources, information on in-text citations, and a sample reference list.

Basic MLA formatting guidelines

A Works Cited list should be organized alphabetically by author’s last name.
Works Cited list should be double spaced with a hanging indent.
In-Text citations should be placed directly after the quote or paraphrase. Information needed: (Author’s Last Name page number)
- Parenthetical citation: “Direct quote” (Furlong 25).
- Narrative citation, if the author is mentioned in the sentence, only provide the page #. Example: Furlong found that “direct quote” (25)
Publication date should be formatted day month year with the month abbreviated. It could also be: month year or season year. Examples:
- 26 July 2016
- Dec. 2015
- spring 2016
Abbreviations: If the month is more than 4 letters, abbreviate as follows: Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. Aug. Sep. Oct. Nov. Dec.

MLA Style Center provide citation guideline for common titles of online works.

Books on musicals

The Routledge Companion to the Contemporary Musical by Jessica Sternfeld (Editor); Elizabeth L. Wollman (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1134851855
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of the American Musical by Raymond Knapp (Editor); Mitchell Morris (Editor); Stacy Wolf (Editor)
Call Number: ML1711 .O95 2011
ISBN: 9780195385946
Publication Date: 2011-11-04
The Oxford Handbook of Musical Theatre Screen Adaptations by Dominic McHugh (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 O94 2019
ISBN: 9780190469993
Publication Date: 2019
Victorians on Broadway: literature, adaptation, and the modern American musical by Sharon Aronofsky Weltman
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0813944333
Publication Date: 2020
The Complete Book of 1990s Broadway Musicals by Dan Dietz
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781442272149
Publication Date: 2016
The Complete Book of 2000s Broadway Musicals by Dan Dietz
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781442278011
Publication Date: 2017

More books on musical theatre

Visual and historical resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Not limited to just academic journals/articles, JSTOR has absorbed ArtSTOR, so this is where you now search for art of all genres and media.

Guide to finding images on JSTOR
If you have only used ArtSTOR or you've only used JSTOR for articles, this will be a helpful guide to getting started finding images.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window Provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and an extensive color image bank as well as other resources. Access restricted to 3 users at a time.

Vogue Archive
With an LAPL card, you can access the complete archive of Vogue.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Available via LAPL, you can browse American Cinematographer back to 1930, plus other trades and popular magazines.
Media History Project
Historical film/radio/television magazines, including trades and fan titles. Freely available with no login.

Three keys to success

Do these 3 things anytime you need to do research as a CSUN student.

1. Go to OneSearch and log in with your user ID and password. That way you can request items from other CSUs, save records (using the pin feature), and not worry about losing track of your findings.

2. Use the Library homepage to find databases like Oxford Music Online, JSTOR, and more. If you use Google to find them, you may be sent to a paywalled site and asked for money. The University Library pays a small fortune for you to have access to hundreds of databases and Google does not know that you are a CSUN student.

3. Ask for help when you need it. Make an appointment with Lindsay (theatre librarian) or use the chat feature, which connects you to a real person 24/7. (If you do use chat, please do not disconnect as soon as you have your response as the person on the other end does not know if you are done being helped).

Articles and performance reviews

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of scholarly articles, performance reviews, and scholarly books.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This has it all: trade journals, academic journals, news stories, and more. Use this database to dig deep into your musical, historical background, and to find performance reviews.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This database has the FULL RUN of the NY Times back to 1851. Do not go to nytimes.com unless you want to pay to access the same content.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This database has every reference book you could ever dream of: you can look up musicians, librettists, musicals, performers, etc. It is as easy to use as Wikipedia but it is reliable and your professor will be thrilled!
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Current news from across the globe: read today's NY Times or explore the Chicago Tribune from 10 years ago. Do not ever pay for news content and if you need help, ask a librarian.

Streaming resources

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank is the world's largest non-theatrical distributor of motion pictures for public performance and the acknowledged leader in the field.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a platform for streaming video that currently features over 140 videos on a broad range of subjects. The platform features transcripts, embed links, and features for sharing playlists.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.