Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Affordable Learning $olutions

The official website of the CSUN AL$ initiative.

Library Resources

 

On This Page: 
Find E-Books Search Databases Other Library Resources

 

Find E-Books at Oviatt

Oviatt Library has a large collection of e-books that you can use for your courses. To find e-books, you'll need to use two filters as you conduct your searches in OneSearch:

1. Under "Show Only," choose "Available Online at CSUN"
2. Under "Resource Type," choose "Books"

Screenshot of e-book filters in OneSearch

Screenshot demonstrating how to lock filters in OneSearch

Don't forget, if you need to do multiple searches, you can "lock" these two filters so that you don't have to keep reapplying them each time you search for a new term. To "lock" a filter, hover over the filter with your mouse and click on the lock symbol that appears on the left side. Once a filter is highlighted in yellow, that means it has been locked.

 

Once you find a promising e-book, check under "Online Access" to make sure it has "Unlimited user access."

Screenshot showing where to find "unlimited user access" note

 

Still not finding what you need?

 

Not seeing anything in OneSearch that fits the bill? Or did you find an e-book you want to use, only to discover that its license restricts user access? Don't despair! Simply get in touch with a librarian – we may be able to find you a suitable alternative, or even purchase an e-book with appropriate usage rights for your course.

Search Databases for Articles

Oviatt Library subscribes to a large number of both general and discipline-specific databases. All CSUN students and faculty have access to articles in these databases through their Oviatt library account, so this is a great way to find affordable course materials. Be sure to check out which databases are specifically recommended for your subject. Browse Oviatt's subject databases

Oviatt's librarians have also compiled Research Guides on each subject. These guides will help you navigate some of the most helpful databases for your discipline, as well as other resources and research tips. Browse Oviatt's Research Guides.

When in doubt, feel free to reach out to your subject specialist or to the AL$ Team

 

Find an article you want to use?

 

Fantastic! Don't forget to provide your students with the article's "permalink" to ensure the link still works when they try to access the article later. Learn more about using permalinks here

Other Library Resources

Course Reserves

If your course requires that students purchase textbooks, especially expensive ones, it's always a good idea to make sure a copy of those textbooks is on reserve at the library. This ensures that all students have a way to access required course materials regardless of their financial situation. Visit this page to learn how to put course materials on reserve at Oviatt Library

 

Canvas Instructional Modules

Did you know that Oviatt Library offers a number of instructional modules that you can import directly into your Canvas course? With topics ranging from information literacy to research tips to citation help, you can provide your students with resources to improve their coursework with no additional work on your part. Learn more about embedding library instructional modules

 

 

 

 

 

Many thanks to the creators of the following resources that inspired this OER guide:
SJSU: Open Educational Resources by College
Humboldt State University: Open Educational Resources (OER)

Creative Commons License  This website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Document Reader