AFRS 115: University Writing

The physical reference collection is located in the northwest corner Learning Commons on the Main Floor across from the Reference Desk (see map below).  Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works are inter-shelved on floors 2 through 4.

Featured reference sources

• Encyclopedia of Africa / editors Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
• Africana : The Encyclopedia of the African and African American experience / editors, Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
• The African American Electorate: A Statistical History [electronic resource]/ Hanes Walton, Sherman C. Puckett, Donald R. Deskins.

Browse popular sources

• Africa - Encyclopedias
• Africa - Dictionaries
• Africa - Atlases
• African diaspora - Encyclopedias
• African Americans - Encyclopedias
• African Americans - Dictionaries

General Reference Resources

• SAGE Knowledge

  Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
  Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health,..
• Oxford Reference

  Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  OED is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.