LibGuides: AFRS 324: Contemporary Black Woman: Resource strategies for the class

Librarian

Subjects: African Studies, Africana Studies, Central American and Transborder Studies, Chicana and Chicano Studies

Databases/Recommended Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

GenderWatch
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
LGBT Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Streaming video collection for the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences. Includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Independent Voices
Chronicles the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.This collection contains 12,992 issues comprising 388,368 pages.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select \Settings
WorldCat.org (OCLC)
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.

Advanced Searching

Your searchable topics are informed by your assignment prompt. Consider the following example using the Advanced search function in OneSearch:

Subject = "African American women" AND "feminism"

Figure 1:

Figure 1 illustrates multiple techniques to increase the relevance of your search results by using:

subject searching to ensure your results are reasonably ABOUT your search terms.
the "is (exact)" function from the drop menu to ensure that multiple words are searched as a single term.
the boolean operator "AND" to pull results that contain BOTH subject terms from your search.

Figure 2:

Figure 2 illustrates a catalog record produced by the subject search using the search terms "African American women" and "feminism". Note how these terms appear in the 'subject' heading assigned to a resource, assuring that the resource is sufficiently about the search terms used in the search.