Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

ART 421: History of Roman Art & Architecture

Librarian

Nicole Shibata's picture
Nicole Shibata
Contact:
She / her / hers
Oviatt Library
818-677-2281
Subjects:Art

Art Databases

Use the Art Databases to find peer-reviewed articles, reviews, news items and more.

Most Useful

Also Useful

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

  • searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research
  • searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web
  • offers much of the content in full text, while in some instances abstracts with links to pay-for document delivery services are displayed. You should use Interlibrary Loan instead of paying for access to documents.

 

 

How Can I Tell If An Article is Scholarly?

Watch a brief video and read more details about identifying scholarly articles

Check this database for individual journal titles to find out if they are scholarly or peer-reviewed

Keyword Brainstorming ART 416

Keyword Brainstorming

Before you start your research, brainstorm some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your research. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.

Let's say I am in the beginning stages of my research on the image of women in art of Iran.

Keyword 1 Keyword 2 Keyword 3
women art Iran
female(s) painting Persia
gender photography  
  design  

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are words (or, and, not) used to connect search terms to expand or narrow a search within a database to locate relevant information.

It is helpful to diagram the effects of these operators:

women or females

women or females

Or retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It expands the search. Therefore, use "or" in between terms that have the same meaning (synonyms) or equal value to the search.

OR Gives You More

women and media

women and media

And retrieves records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific.

AND Does Not Expand

image not weight

Not eliminates records that contain a search term. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include that term. Warning: Some databases use "and not" instead of "not." Check the database help screen.

 

Using OneSearch

Our catalog and article search has been combined into a new OneSearch platform. Here you can search for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

You can narrow your search results under the Refine My Results and Resource Type headings by choosing a Resource type such as books, ebooks or articles.

 

CSU Resource Sharing

Is the book you want already checked out? Or perhaps the library does now already own a copy? Watch this video to learn how to use OneSearch to request an item available through another CSU library.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a service that lets you request items (books, articles, etc.) that are not owned by Oviatt Library. Details and links to the online request form are available.

What's a Bibliography?

What's a Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of all of the sources that you consult in the process of researching your work. It should follow a specific citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Each citation includes elements such as:

  • Author(s)' names
  • Title
  • Date published
  • Name and place of publisher

The goal is to provide enough information for your readers to locate the resources you cite.

MLA style

Document Reader