LibGuides: Art 468: History of Women in the Visual Arts: Home

Home

Librarian

Nicole Shibata

She/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

University Library

818-677-2281

Subjects: Art

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for Art 468 - History of Women in the Visual Arts. Here you will find resources to help you with your research.

Saar, Betye, Gris-Gris Box. 1972, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles. https://www.moca.org/collection/work/gris-gris-box Mixed media assemblage

Citing using Chicago Manual of Style

Citation Guides

The Chicago Manual of Style is commonly used in the arts and humanities to create bibliographies and citations. It is available in print in the library and online.

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
The official Chicago online manual
OWL Purdue: Chicago Manual of Style 17th Ed.
From OWL Purdue (look for types of resources to cite along the lefthand side, such as Books, Periodicals, Web Sources, etc.)

Find Articles

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from more than 300 publications, and indexing and abstracts for over 600 publications and 13,000 art dissertations covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Also includes indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions and a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Indexes over 600 journals, 13,000 dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Indexes content from more than 55 years of art journalism from over 600 publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Full-text digital, searchable database of American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Core Journal

Woman's Art Journal

Writing about art

A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
ISBN: 0205708250
Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Writing about Art by Henry M. Sayre
ISBN: 0130416142
Publication Date: 2001-11-15
Learning to Look by Joshua C. Taylor
ISBN: 0226791521
Publication Date: 1981-06-01
The Art of Writing about Art by Suzanne Hudson; Nancy Noonan-Morrisey
ISBN: 9781285442587
Publication Date: 2014-01-01