LibGuides: CD 760: Research Methods in Audiology: Home

Home

OneSearch

OneSearch has the records of over 100 databases including the library catalog for books, videos, and more.. BUT It does NOT include the indexing from the EBSCOHost databases. .Please be sure to watch the OneSearch Basics video to learn about all its features, pinning records, saving search queries, requesting books be mailed, links to Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan when CSUN University Library does not have a subscription to the journal or owns a copy of the book.

OneSearch tips on how to search and link to Advanced search

Journals

Audiology Today
Trade journal of the American Academy of Audiology
more...less...
Content available at: EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Available from 09/01/2009.
Journal of the American Academy of Audiology
Online content available at: Thieme Connect
Available from 2002 volume: 13 issue: 1.
Current articles available under eFirst tab
more...less...
Also have print volumes from v.8-v.20 (1997-2009)
American Journal of Audiology
Online Available from multiple databases
Ear and Hearing: The official Jjournal of the American Auditory Society.
Online content available from: Ovid Kluwer Journals
Available from 01/01/1980.
Also have print volumes
International Journal of Audiology
Online Content available at: Taylor & Francis Journals Complete
Available from 2002 volume: 41 issue: 1.
Content available at: EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Available from 2002.
Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available.
more...less...
Also have in print v. 41 2002 until v.:48 2009
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America

There are several more journals which can be added to this list.

The best way to look up a journal by its title is to use the Journals link located under the OneSearch box on https://library.csun.edu

Communication Disorders & Sciences Librarian Marcia Henry

Contact:

California State University Northridge

Campus Phone: 818-677-3012

Office Hours are by appointment to meet your schedule.

Send Email: mhenry@csun.edu

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
It currently indexes 5263 journals, Tutorials for PubMed are located at
https://learn.nlm.nih.gov/documentation/training-packets/T0042010P/
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, and teacher evaluation.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
In addition to the databases listed above, you EBSCOhost databases -Academic Search Premier, MLA International Bibliography, Wilson databases might also index audiology journals
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
audiology resources comparable to what INSPEC database offered.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.

Citation Managers -store references for use with word processors -EndNote Basic (EndNoteWeb, EndNote Online) and ZoteroBib

EndNote This link opens in a new window
Register for your FREE EndNote Basic account using the database Web of Science. EndNote Basic , also called EndNote Online or EndNoteWeb. - free to CSUN students, staff, and faculty; integrates with MS Word and several browsers (IE,Chrome, Firefox); can export references directly from many databases. You can contact EndNote help desk, Monday-Friday, 6 am (Pacific time) - 5pm at 800-336-4474. [Press 4 for Technical Support, press 1 for Endnote] The drawback you need to have internet access, Check and improve, if needed, your saved records and prepare your list of references before you start writing your paper.

Zotero Bib
ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It works with MicroSoft Word, Google Docs .... read the FAQ at https://zbib.org/faq,

TUTORIALS

EndNote Online - viideo tutorial l by MSU Library" Introduction to EndNote Basic" shows how register for an account, how to import references from a variety of databases and how to use Cite While Your Write (CYYW)

How to export records from Google Scholar by Clarivate (Web of Science0. Please read directions at

https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-online-Importing-References-from-Google-Scholar?language=en_US

ZoteroBib tutorial

tutorial by Georgia State University Library on using ZoteroBib to make an easy bibliography

APA Style 7th

Books

Evaluating and Conducting Research in Audiology by Vinaya Manchaiah; Eldre W. Beukes
ISBN: 1635501903
Publication Date: 2020-08-15
Online book-can download chapters
Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders by Lauren K. Nelson; Jaimie L. Gilbert
ISBN: 9781635502114
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Online book -can download chapterpDF
Computational Handbook of Statistics by James L. Bruning; B. L. Kintz
ISBN: 0673990850
Publication Date: 1997-01-07
Print book on, Floor3 call number is HA29 .B835 1997. Can also borrow from other CSU's
Educational Audiology Handbook by Cheryl DeConde Johnson; Jane B. Seaton
ISBN: 9781635501094
Publication Date: 2019-12-31
Online book

Try the following search strategy in OneSearch Advanced Search for books selected Title contains audiolog* and sorted by newest date

https://csu-un.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=title,contains,audiolog*,AND&pfilter=rtype,exact,books,AND&tab=LibraryCatalog&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&sortby=date_d&vid=01CALS_UNO:01CALS_UNO&mode=advanced&offset=0

Websites

MedlinePlus
DailyMed

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Marcia Henry

Email Me

Contact:

California State University Northridge

818-677-3012

Subjects: Assistive Technology, Communication Disorders and Sciences, Nursing, Physical Therapy