Skip to Main Content
Skip to Library Help widget

ENGL 115-30 University Writing

This guide is created specifically for section 30 of ENGL 115 for the Fall of 2021.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

JSTOR 

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Full-text access to Something about the Author; Dictionary of Literary Biography; and these Literature Criticism Online collections: Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Draws from a number of Gale sources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review.

Databases for Education

Scholarly Databases:

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)

Bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals, books, monographs, and education-related conference papers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Access generously provided by the College of Education.

ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.

Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson)

Provides indexing of important education literature, including information on societal trends affecting education such as segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, economic developments, etc. Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Access generously provided by the College of Education.

Video Databases:

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press provides access to over 9,000 videos. Subjects range from counseling and therapy to opera to education. Many videos include a full, searchable transcript, and videos can be linked or embedded in Canvas.

Films on Demand 

Multidisciplinary streaming video service providing access to digital educational films. Current access includes over 700 videos in many subject areas.

Report ADA Problems with Library Services and Resources