Resources for Community Engaged Learning and Research: Course Design

Searchable database of hundreds of course syllabi that integrate community-engaged learning across a wide range of disciplines and issue areas

Northeastern University's guide with considerations for design and implementation of community-engaged teaching.

This Faculty Resource Guide comes from the Honey W. Nashman Center for Civic Engagement and Public Services at George Washington University.

This guide focuses on community engagement for public health, but provides a great definition and overview of community engagement. The guide is available in both English and Spanish.

Non-Profit Quarterly article by Vicki Pozzebon on how to consider power relationships when partnering with communities.

Considering adding exhibit curation as part of coursework? This toolkit by the Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History and Of/By/For All offers guidelines for creating a community issue exhibition.

The American Association for State and Local History and the National Council on Public History sponsors the Inclusive Historian's Handbook. The Handbook provides explanations and examples of history-based projects related to topics such as civic engagement, accessibility, and heritage tourism.

Sharing Your Stories Online provides an introduction to online storytelling, as well as questions and resources for institutions interested in partnering with community organizations.

Faculty from around the world share information about their community engaged projects and reflect upon their experiences, as part of the Amplifying the Voices of Engaged Researchers Around the World program.

Community Tool Box's introduction to defining and undestanding the concept of community.

The "Curriculum" sections of the handbook include ideas for introducing students to Community Engagement, Engaging with Community, and Contextualizing Community.

PDF Publication from Duke University with resources related to engaging with communities responsibly and ethically.

Compiled by Katie Halcrow, Director of Service Learning, Inver Hills Community College, and incorporating the work of Professor Diane Sloan’s “Reflection Activities: Tried and True Teaching Methods to Enhance Students’ Service-Learning Experience” File hosted by CSU Chico.

Learning for Justice's guide to facilitating critical conversations with students and helping students built empathy, agency, and resilience.

Activities for self, group, and systems reflecting.

A table, hosted by CSU Chico, with ideas for both quick and long term writing, discussion, creative arts, and/or kinesthetic reflection activities.