LibGuides: Elementary Education: Finding Articles, Books, Videos, and Theses/Dissertations

Librarian

Lisa Cheby

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

818-677-3840

Subjects: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Special Education

Advanced OneSearch

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is the University Library's searching tool to locate book, ebooks, articles, videos and more provided by the Library. OneSearch has been adopted by all 23 CSU libraries giving the CSU system a shared platform to collaborate and share resources.

What am I searching with OneSearch?

By default, with OneSearch you are searching the following University Library collections together:

Articles - A interdisciplinary collection of millions of articles from numerous databases and providers. Note that this will not show all articles from all databases.
Books and Media (CSUN) - Books, ebooks, DVDs, music, streaming media and more available through the University Library. This also includes material located in the Teacher Curriculum Center, Music & Media, Map Library, and Special Collections & Archives.

Additionally the following collections are not included in the default search, but can be selected by the user:

Course Reserves - Course materials placed in the library by professors and available for short term checkout.
All CSU Libraries (CSU+) -Includes the books and media collections of all 23 campus libraries as well as articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

OneSearch Advanced Search

Use the Advanced Search feature to help you find specific items by title or author name, material type or publication date range. Click on Advanced Search under "More Search Options" in the OneSearch box on the library home page. If you are in One Search, click on "Advanced Search" to the right of the search box. To learn more advanced search strategies, click on the search strategy tips tab on the left.

Setting Up Google Scholar with Your CSUN ID

When you search in Google Scholar, you will see links and abstracts for articles that are both open access (free) and those that are behind paywalls. If an article is not open access, but is part of one of a CSUN subscription that allows full access, you will be able to link to the full article if you set up your Google Scholar to use your CSUN account as a proxy. Open the PDF below for step by step instructions (it is very easy and quick!)

Google Scholar Set-Up for CSUN Holdings

ERIC: Education Resource Information Center Database

What is ERIC?

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) contains records and full-text documents records for a variety of education-related resources, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, units of study, lesson plans, and policy papers. It also has an education-specific thesaurus to help refine your concepts and search terms.

How to Access ERIC?

You may access ERIC directly via ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) or through some of our subscription databases, ERIC (EBSCO) and ERIC (ProQuest). All provide access to the same data, but their interfaces are different. Scroll down to see videos on how to use each interface and learn about their different features.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides\access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) This link opens in a new window ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Databases Specializing in Relates and Interdisciplinary Topics

Use these databases when looking at education issues form an interdisciplinary perspective for broader perspectives on education issues

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window A citation and abstract database that covers a wide range of disciplines. Allows search by author and institution, includes citation data, and allows for in-depth searching on a concept or topic.

Dissertations and Theses Databases

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window Search thousands of freely available dissertations

Ethnic & Gender Studies Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and dissertations and masters theses.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Includes over 67,000 records on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window Contains ethnographic collections on the cultures of the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject, and covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents. The subscription also includes access to the ebooks Diversity & Ethnic Studies collection covering diversity, equity and inclusion.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window Index on Jewish history, activity and thought. Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Digitized materials from the A.J. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, covering American Indians and their involvement in territorial disputes, U.S. Government relations, missionary activity, education, colonialism, and more.
ProQuest Black Studies This link opens in a new window Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together ProQuest's award-winning Black Studies content into one destination for research, teaching, and learning purposes. This database combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.

Elementary Education