The Vern and Bonnie Bullough Collection on Sex and Gender was established by former CSUN faculty member Vern Bullough to document social attitudes and studies of sex and gender from ancient times to the present in support of CSUN curricula and research. The collection is maintained for research and educational purposes, and is comprised of books, periodicals, manuscripts, and archival materials.
The collection is maintained for research and educational purposes, and is comprised of books, periodicals, manuscripts, and archival materials on numerous topics. Some of these include:
Gender roles in various time periods
The homosexual community in Los Angeles
The transgender community
Children and gender
Gender and medicine
Most materials in the Bullough Collection are in Special Collections and Archives, though some are in other parts of the library.
Click here to be connected to the browse feature of the finding aid database and check under the Bullough entries.
Finding Archives in Special Collections & Archives
The majority of materials in Special Collections & Archives are archival. Archival materials are described as collections, and consist of unpublished records created by a person, family, or organization in the conduct of their affairs, kept because of their ongoing value. Each collection has a Finding Aid, which is similar to the Table of Contents in a book. Finding Aids in Special Collections & Archives are searchable via our institution page on the Online Archive of California, which is linked directly beneath the OneSearch box on the library's homepage.