LibGuides: Queer Studies: Queer Studies Research Guide

Queer Studies Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Office: University Library 449A EW

818-677-7104

Subjects: American Indian Studies, California Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Queer Studies

Find Articles

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences. Includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.This collection contains 12,992 issues comprising 388,368 pages.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources.
WorldCat.org (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.

Key Journals

GLQ: a Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Havard Gay and Lesbian Review
International Gay and Lesbian Review
International Journal of Transgenderism
Journal of Law and Sexuality
Gay & Lesbian Law Journal
Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
GLBTQ Social Sciences

Find Books

Using OneSearch type in your keywords and click Go.
Click on the 'Books' filer under 'Resource Type' on the left-hand side of the search results.
You will find books on your subject (like those pictured below), both in electronic and print formats.

Remember that during COVID19, access to the print collection at the library may not be possible.

Queer Studies by Bruce Henderson
ISBN: 9781939594341
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Queer: a Graphic History by Meg-John Barker; Julia Scheele (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781785780714
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg
ISBN: 9781483371290
Publication Date: 2016-01-01

Find Ebooks

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).

Find Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

Find Newspaper Articles (Selected Current & Historical Publications)

ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).