LibGuides: COMS 151: Public Speaking: Facts and Statistics

Factual Information

Selected Sources

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
NewsBank Hot Topics This link opens in a new window
Covers current research topics like key global issues, business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles.

Pew Research Center - A nonpartisan think tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other other data-driven social science research. Their mission is to enrich the public dialogue and support sound decision-making.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Located at Cornell University, the center holds archives of public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. To search their holdings, click on the 'Search iPoll' link. This site has video tutorials as well; hover over 'Support', then choose 'Video Tutorials'.
RefDesk.com - Reference, facts, news
USA.gov - The United States government's official web portal. Also provides links to relevant state and local government websites.

Selected Sources

U.S. Census Bureau Provides an alphabetical index consisting of keywords and phrases to access census statistics, free publications, products, services, and other social, demographic and economic information.
Data-Planet
A statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.

PolicyMap - Offers a web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.

Data.Census.Gov This link opens in a new window
Presents population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau. Data sets section offers tables for the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and Population Estimates. (Formerly known as American Factfinder)