LibGuides: CHS 202: Race, Racism and Critical Thinking: Newspapers

Finding Newspaper Titles

To find a specific newspaper, use the Journal search via OneSearch and type in the title of the newspaper such as The Wall Street Journal:

Once you find the newspaper, look under Online Access for the link. If there are multiple links, this means the library has access to the newspaper in multiple databases. Make sure to select the link that corresponds to the date range you are searching for.

Once you find an article of interest, you can save the PDF, create a citation, and/or email yourself or a colleague.

Current Newspaper Articles

Have you tried accessing news on their website and prompted to subscribe and pay for access? Don’t worry, the University Library has access to many popular current national newspapers. To browse same day news, it is best to start with Proquest Global NewsStream. Otherwise, select the title below to open the newspaper in OneSearch.

Key U.S. Titles

Chicago Tribune
San Francisco Examiner
The Baltimore Sun
The Boston Globe
The Chicago Defender
The Los Angeles Sentinel
The Los Angeles Times
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal (see below for WSJ.com)
Washington Post

Key International Titles

Other News Resources:

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
FT features world business, politics and economic news, as well as dedicated coverage of company news, climate change, technology, the arts, culture and book reviews. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account that includes FT.com app or desktop access, set up myFT customized news feeds and alerts, access special reports and the ePaper, which is the digital reproduction of todays print edition.
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local and regional news sources.
Sundial This link opens in a new window
Online version of the California State University, Northridge campus newspaper.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
This provides current access to the Wall Street Journal and all their online content. It requires new users to create a WSJ account. After registering, you will be able to use WSJ apps and log in across all devices.

Historical Newspaper Articles

Most of our historical newspaper content comes from two sources: ProQuest and Readex. Unfortunately, a lot of the Readex content is not in OneSearch. So searches for your keywords in OneSearch may bring up article-level results from ProQuest but you may need to go directly to these databases to turn up more.

One additional note is that you may find historical sources will use different vocabulary than academic sources, so you may have to try out a few different keywords for these searches.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2014).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Hispanic Life In America, 1943-2009 This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection covers Hispanic American culture and daily life, sourced from 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications.
California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection includes periodicals from America from 1684 until 1912. It includes more than 500 titles, giving researchers access to contemporary accounts of historical events.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
More than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, including many rare 19th-century titles. Extensive coverage of many ethnic groups, covering immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, education, labor movements and war efforts.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.