Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

Citing Archival Materials

This guide provides an overview to citing archival materials in some of the most frequently used citation styles, including Chicago/Turabian, MLA, and APA.

Bibliography

(Sections 14.222 and 14.230)

If you've cited one item from an archival collection, the name of the item or its creator is usually the main element in the bibliography entry. If you've cited more than one item from an archival collection, the name of the collection is usually the main element in the bibliography entry. In either case other pieces of information that could be included are the collection's date range; the name of the library, archives, or other institution that owns the collection; and the city and state the institution is located in.

Bibliography: Example 1

Front and back of photo from the Sager CollectionTwo or more photographs from the Sager Collection

The photograph of the Japanese sentry at right is from the William H. Sager China Marines Photograph CollectionYou might cite the collection in your bibliography as follows:

Sager, William H., China Marines Photograph Collection. Special Collections and Archives, Oviatt Library, California State University, Northridge. Los Angeles, CA.

See the Chicago Manual of Style, section 14.230, for more examples of citation formats in a Bibliography.

Bibliography: Example 2

Letter from John to William SellA letter from the Sell Collection

The letter at right is from the John M. Sell Civil War Collection. You might cite the item in your bibliography as follows:

Sell, John M., Letter to William Sell, 3 November 1861. John M. Sell Civil War Collection. Special Collections and Archives, Oviatt Library, California State University, Northridge. Los Angeles, CA.

See the Chicago Manual of Style, section 14.230, for more examples of citation formats in a Bibliography.

Document Reader