Skip to main content
Skip to Library Help widget

CJS 452CY: Cybercrime

Course guide for CJS 452 (CY)

Communication Studies, Criminology & Justice Studies Librarian

OneSearch

We've recently improved OneSearch! The following tutorial will show you how to navigate the library's resources including books and eBooks.

Finding Books beyond the Oviatt

What if the Oviatt Library doesn't own a book you need? You can request it through CSU+, a new resource sharing program with other CSU Libraries. The following tutorial will show you how to use this option:

**The CSU+ Resource Sharing program is temporarily on hold due to public health mandates for our campus. Please visit the library's COVID-19 webpage for updates on when this service will once again be available.**

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are used to connect two, or more, keywords together as a way to narrow or expand your search results.  

AND - narrows your topic; only results with the terms 'women' and 'media' found in the title, subject heading or description will be shown.

OR - expands your topic; useful when you want to add to your results; this terms works well when using synonyms as keywords.

NOT - removes results; if your keyword can be defined in multiple ways. For example, 'image' can mean pictures but it could also be related to body image or self-esteem.

Finding Articles

Here is a short list of databases that you can utilize in your research. More options are available on the Criminology & Justice Studies page.

  • Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Full text article from nearly 215 journals dating back to 1995 and including indexing & abstracts of over 625 periodicals back to 1983. Covering the latest concepts, theories, and methods from applied/theoretical aspects of social science.
  • JSTOR Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • ProQuest Global Newsstand Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires, and news sources. A great database to start your search on recent reporting of cybercrime and potential trials.

Below are several databases to use in legal research. To learn more about using these databases, click on the 'Legal Research' tab found on the upper left side of this page.