LibGuides: COMS 356: Intercultural Communication/Bernardo Attias: Finding Resources

Communication Studies Librarian

Coleen Martin

Email Me

Contact:

coleen.martin@csun.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication Studies, Journalism

Finding Articles

Want to know if a publication is peer reviewed? Search Ulrichsweb.

Here are a list of databases to get you started on finding articles:

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching of H.W. Wilson databases. Contents include: full-text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers

Other useful databases:

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of general and subject specific databases, including resources previously provided by H.W. Wilson.
Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses. The companion database (Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch.
ProQuest Global NewsStream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.

For more Databases, see the A-Z Databases page.

A Literature Review is more than a Summary Video

UCLA Libraries: A Literature Review is more than a Summary

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are used to connect two, or more, keywords together as a way to narrow or expand your search results.

AND - narrows your topic; only results with the terms 'women' and 'media' found in the title, subject heading or description will be shown.

OR - expands your topic; useful when you want to add to your results; this terms works well when using synonyms as keywords.

NOT - removes results; if your keyword can be defined in multiple ways. For example, 'image' can mean pictures but it could also be related to body image or self-esteem.

OneSearch

We've recently improved OneSearch! The following tutorial will show you how to navigate the library's resources including books and eBooks.

Finding Books Beyond the University Library

What if the University Library doesn't own a book you need? You can request it through CSU+, a new resource sharing program with other CSU Libraries. The following tutorial will show you how to use this option.