COMS 600: Core Seminar

Facts and Statistics

The following are from government and private sources of facts and statistics beyond journals and books, for finding information to support research papers and presentations.

Factual Information: Selected Sources

• SAGE Knowledge (Electronic encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and education.)
• Encyclopedia Britannica (Free website.)
• NewsBank California Collection Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local and regional news sources.
• Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) (Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites.)
• CQ Researcher (Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.)
• RefDesk.com--Reference, Facts, News
• USA.gov (The United States government's official web portal. Also provides links to relevant state and local government websites.)

Statistical Data: Selected Sources

• Explore Census Data (Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census.)
• 2010 Census and by decade (Quick access and description of the latest Census of Population and Housing.)
• Data (Library Guide)
• PolicyMap (Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to visualize data about communities.)
• Disability: U.S. Census Bureau
• Foreign Born: U.S. Census Bureau
• Immigration Statistics: Dept. of Homeland Security
• Language Use: U.S. Census Bureau (Census data on languages spoken in the United States)
• Los Angeles and San Fernando Valley Statistics & Facts
• Same Sex Couples: U.S. Census Bureau

The following University Library Guides may be helpful to MCOM 600 students in locating information and developing a successful Research Proposal.

• Fact-Checking News
• Finding and Using Images
• Literature Review: How To
• Research Strategies
• Special Collections & Archives
• Streaming Video