LibGuides: CTVA 400: Media and Society: Films

Digital Services Librarian

Steve Kutay

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

18111 Nordhoff St.
Northridge, CA 91330-8328

University Library Rm 227

818.677.2335

Subjects: Cinema and Television Arts

Streaming Collections for Documentaries

Asian Film Online Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Black Studies in Video Streaming video database with over 500 hours of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
Docuseek2 Docuseek2 provides access to hundreds of streaming education videos from a variety of producers and distributors. You can search for a specific title or keyword, or browse videos by theme or title.
Education in Video Collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Ethnographic Video Online Part of Alexander Street Anthropology, this streaming video collection of classic and contemporary documentaries for the study of anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology covers every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Includes interviews, field notes, study guides, and footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Filmakers Online Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Film Platform Over 600 documentary films distributed by Roco Films
Health and Society in Video Streaming video collection defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society, with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. Access generously provided by NIH/NLM Women's Health Resources Dissemination Outreach Project.
Kanopy Kanopy offers a number of videos that may be viewed online, through an app, or using Roku or Apple TV. Please note that the first time you use Kanopy via CSUN, you need to log in at csun.kanopy.com.
Latin America in Video Over 250 hours of original language documentaries from producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films cover Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and more.
LGBT Studies in Video Streaming video collection for the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences. Includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Music Online: Opera in Video Streaming video collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
PBS Video Collection This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS.
Sony Pictures Classics More than 300 Sony Pictures Classics films from 1992 to 2015. Their catalog offers world cinema titles, and includes a strong emphasis on documentary, including works by filmmakers such as Louis Malle, Wim Wenders, Francis Ford Coppola, Ang Lee, Mike Leigh, Asghar Farhadi, Roman Polanski, Michael Haneke, David Cronenberg, Eric Rohmer, Terry Gilliam, Ismail Merchant, Errol Morris, Ingmar Bergman, Pedro Almodovar, and others.
Swank Digital Campus Swank is the world's largest non-theatrical distributor of motion pictures for public performance and the acknowledged leader in the field.
Theatre in Video Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.

Finding videos

Use OneSearch to find streaming videos (or DVDs/Blu-Rays). You can search by title, director, actor, etc. For example, to find Ben Affleck's streaming titles available at CSUN, search his name, limit to Video, and then Available Online at CSUN:

For titles that only appear as DVDs or Blu-rays, we are unable to stream these titles to a classroom, Zoom, or Canvas. We are also not able to rent or purchase titles from iTunes, Hulu, Netflix, Prime Video, etc.

Using Kanopy through your public library

You can get a card for checking out items, or you can get an e-card, which allows you to stream films, borrow e-books, and listen to music. If you live in Los Angeles County, you may get an LAPL e-card. During normal operating procedures, anyone in the State of CA may get an LAPL card. You can have multiple accounts/memberships with Kanopy, such as LAPL plus CSUN or LA County Library plus CSUN. Please see this guide for more info.

More than 30,000 films are available to stream on Kanopy (LAPL) through Los Angeles Public Library.

Live within LA County but outside the City of Los Angeles? Sign up for an LA County Library card.

If you live in Ventura, Orange, or LA County, you can sign up for a Beverly Hills Public Library card.

The City of Orange Public Library offers e-cards to California residents.

Newport Beach Public Library also offers e-cards to California residents.

Berkeley Public Library offers e-cards to California residents.

Riverside County Library System has Kanopy and is available for all California residents.

Fresno County Library offers Kanopy to its residents, with instant e-cards.

San Joaquin Valley Library System (7 counties including Madera, Stanislaus, and Merced) offers Kanopy plus instant e-cards.

Sonoma County Library offers e-cards for residents of the County.